Voices From The HTML5 Trenches: Browser Wars IV

A session at SXSW Interactive 2011

Tuesday 15th March, 2011

5:00pm to 6:00pm (CST)

The term HTML5 now refers to the much-hyped kitchen sink of the web. It covers *everything* including things not officially part of the HTML5 specification. Yet "HTML5" is now the catch phrase to describe the new wave of platform competition on the web, and browser vendors vie to outdo each other on benchmark tests touting compliance and performance.

Every major browser vendor -- Apple, Opera, IE, Chrome, and Firefox -- will have a significant browser release by SxSW 2011. Microsoft's recent IE9 press event suggests that they are "all in for HTML5." So if all of us browser vendors are "all in" for HTML5, what does this mean for web developers? And what's up with the dirty marketing buzz around tests and demo pages?

This panel will expose the areas where we browser vendors cooperate as well as compete, and will push on the painful spots where we seem to disagree. We'll bring every major browser vendor to the table, and talk about open video on the web (and video codecs), what this all means to Flash, APIs (including contentious ones, like databases), CSS (including once hot areas like fonts) graphics, SVG vs. Canvas, WebGL, Device APIs, and security.

This browser wars panel will be less like Inside Baseball, and more about the practical issues confronting web developers today. We'll poke at the raw spots that browser vendors need to discuss. As always, audience participation will account for a substantial chunk of time.

LEVEL: Intermediate

About the speakers

This person is speaking at this event.
Lars Erik Bolstad
This person is speaking at this event.
Alex Russell

Bringing the web platform into the late-90's, one spec at a time.

This person is speaking at this event.
Brendan Eich

Brendan Eich invented JavaScript, co-founded mozilla.org, and serves as CTO, Mozilla. bio from Twitter

This person is speaking at this event.
John Hrvatin
This person is speaking at this event.
Arun Ranganathan

Samosapedia Co-founder (http://www.samosapedia.com/); Ex-Mozillian; Writer. bio from Twitter

82 attendees

  • Alex Bilstein
  • Jason Hartsell
  • Joey deVilla
  • Allison Wagner
  • Anders Svendal
  • Andrew Cohen
  • Andrew Dupont
  • Antonio Lulic
  • Arelia Jones
  • Arun Ranganathan
  • Andy Nelsen
  • Brad Dougherty
  • Beau
  • Ben Ward
  • Ross Boucher
  • Brian Papa
  • Brendan Eich
  • burin
  • resting grumpy face
  • Keith Chu
  • Chris Coyier
  • Chuck Fletcher
  • Paul Wheeler
  • Mike Cravey
  • Darby Frey
  • Dave DeSandro
  • Damian Keeghan
  • Lindsey Simon
  • Emil Björklund
  • Marie Kyle
  • Garann Means
  • Hans van de Bruggen
  • John Hrvatin
  • Ian McKellar
  • Robby Ingebretsen
  • ★ jen strickland ★
  • Jason Ugie
  • James Pearce
  • Jay Morrow
  • Jeremy Carbaugh
  • Jeff Keen
  • Jason Garber
  • Jason Paul
  • Janet Swisher
  • John Foliot
  • Jory
  • Kevin Marks
  • Kevin Moore
  • Kenneth Himschoot
  • Kevin Smith
  • Lars Erik Bolstad
  • luciemclean
  • Thorsten Lückemeier
  • Lynn Wallenstein
  • Maria Genitempo
  • Martijn van Erp
  • Marty DeAngelo
  • Mark Meeker
  • Michiel Berger
  • Georgetta Nicol
  • Mo
  • Niki Brown
  • Niran Babalola
  • Nick Downing
  • patrick h. lauke
  • Paul Irish
  • Frances Berriman
  • Peter Kruithof
  • Reinier Ladan
  • Jon Phillips
  • roycifer
  • Scott Phelps
  • Simon Willison
  • Alex Russell
  • david
  • Chrissie Brodigan
  • Aurelio Tinio
  • Tommy Lee
  • Ben Combee
  • Stephen Wyatt Bush
  • Yvonne
  • Yoav Farhi

54 trackers

  • Jeremy Keith
  • Alex de Soto
  • André Luís
  • Anna Debenham
  • Anthony Bruno
  • Anette Henningson
  • Ben Guthrie
  • David Wood
  • Blair Cook
  • Paul Mison
  • Brett Bukowski
  • Carson McDonald
  • Cody Stoltman
  • Colin Schlüter
  • danielc
  • Nikki Jeske
  • Dustin Mihalik
  • Annette
  • Eric Hurst
  • Eamonn O'Brien-Strain
  • Derek Featherstone
  • finn
  • Hanni Ross
  • Mitchell Dunaway
  • James Weiner
  • Jamie Unwin
  • Jason Wehmhoener
  • Jay Patel
  • James Fairbairn
  • juancalcagno
  • James Stewart
  • Wade Austin
  • Matthew Levine
  • Matt Lucht
  • Maarten den Braber
  • Mark
  • Natalie Downe
  • Christian Giordano
  • Herman Kuiper
  • Patrick Berry
  • Jason Lewis
  • Peter-Paul Koch
  • @r4vi
  • Geof Crowl
  • Sabih Mir
  • Scott McCaughey
  • Shelley Cook
  • Simon St.Laurent
  • Jennifer Tharp
  • Ralph Brandi
  • Tom Kiss
  • Ted Leung
  • Tyler Graf
  • Ruthie BenDor

Coverage of this session

Sign in to add slides, notes or videos to this session

Sign in to track this session

Tell your friends!


Time 5:00pm6:00pm CST

Date Tue 15th March 2011


Ballroom C, Austin Convention Center

Session type


Session Hash Tag


Short URL


Official session page


View the schedule



See something wrong?

Report an issue with this session