The Future of The New York Times

A session at SXSW Interactive 2012

Monday 12th March, 2012

11:00am to 12:00pm (CST)

New York Times executive editor Jill Abramson discusses her vision for the future of The Times in the digital age in a session moderated by Texas Tribune editor Evan Smith. Does Abramson's leadership at The Times present a blueprint for sustainability for the newspaper industry?

About the speakers

This person is speaking at this event.
Evan Smith

Editor-in-Chief/CEO, The Texas Tribune

Evan Smith is the CEO and editor-in-chief of The Texas Tribune, which, in its first year in operation, won two national Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Associaton and a General Excellence Award from the Online News Association. Previously he spent nearly 18 years at Texas Monthly, stepping down in August 2009 as the magazine's president and editor-in-chief. He previously served as editor for more than eight years — only the third person to hold that title. On his watch, Texas Monthly was nominated for 16 National Magazine Awards, the magazine industry's equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize, and twice was awarded the National Magazine Award for General Excellence. For eight years, Smith hosted a Lone Star Emmy Award-winning weekly interview program, Texas Monthly Talks, that aired on PBS stations statewide. He currently hosts a new show, Overheard with Evan Smith, that airs on PBS stations nationally. A New York native, Smith has a bachelor's degree in public policy from Hamilton College in Clinton, N.Y., and a master's degree in journalism from the Medill School at Northwestern University.

This person is speaking at this event.
Jill Abramson

Exec Editor, The New York Times

Jill Abramson is executive editor of The New York Times since September 2011. Previously she was managing editor of the paper from August 2003 until August 2011. As managing editor, Ms. Abramson has helped supervise coverage of two wars, four national elections, hurricanes and oil spills. She also writes about politics, in the Week in Review and Book Review sections. She served as Washington bureau chief from December 2000 until July 2003. She joined the newspaper in September 1997 and became Washington editor in 1999. Previously, Ms. Abramson worked at The Wall Street Journal from 1988 to 1997. While there, she served as deputy bureau chief in its Washington, D.C., bureau and investigative reporter, covering money and politics. Ms. Abramson is co-author of “Strange Justice: The Selling of Clarence Thomas,” published in 1994, and “Where They Are Now: The Story of the Women of Harvard Law 1974,” published in 1986. “Strange Justice,” a non-fiction finalist for the National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award in 1994, details the circumstances surrounding the confirmation hearings of Justice Clarence Thomas. “Where They Are Now” is a study of the 71 women in the Harvard Law School class of 1974. Ms. Abramson won the National Press Club award for national correspondence in 1992 for political coverage of money and politics. Ms. Abramson is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. She serves on the Journalism Advisory Board of ProPublica, an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. She also serves on the board of visitors of Columbia University’s School of Journalism.

Next session in Ballroom D

12:30pm Create More Value Than You Capture by Tim O'Reilly and Andrew Mcafee


Take collaborative notes on this session with hackpad


These speakers at previous events

57 attendees

  • Alyssa Henry
  • Andy Pressman
  • Ben Firshman
  • Brett Sinn
  • Charley Walton
  • Matthias Weber
  • Dan Chuparkoff
  • Cody Stoltman
  • Coen
  • Dan Oliver
  • Dean Cruse
  • Dan Phiffer
  • Barbara Iverson
  • EJ Lawless
  • Evan Smith
  • Michael Paull
  • Walter Schwabe
  • Glyn Povah
  • Gui Ambros
  • Jeff Beckham
  • jeremydaly
  • Jeremy
  • Jill Abramson
  • joyce rutter kaye
  • Juliana Nascimento
  • Thomas Harding
  • katie moffat
  • KellyMc
  • Kelsey-Lee LeGassick
  • Matt Biddulph
  • Meg McMahon
  • mgokey
  • Mike Amburn
  • ɹǝɯoɹʞ (dılɟ) dılıɥd
  • Natalie Downe
  • Niran Babalola
  • nloureiro
  • Nick Doty
  • Christopher Groskopf
  • Patricia Marinho
  • Philip Mervis
  • Ray Ortega
  • RamaaMultimedia
  • Renda Morton
  • Rui Piranda
  • Shannon Darrough
  • sermad
  • Simon Willison
  • Steve Lightfoot
  • Steven Polunsky
  • David Sleight
  • Tasneem Raja
  • thisisaaronland
  • Aurelio Tinio
  • Tyson Evans
  • Society
  • Julia Gregory

33 trackers

  • Adam Fraser
  • Aaron Ogle
  • Beau
  • Björn Jeffery
  • Calvin Ly
  • Chip Brantley
  • Colin Schlüter
  • Darren Delaye
  • Paul Duncan
  • Kyle Evans
  • Rick Mason
  • Estelle Weyl
  • Josh Clark
  • Jen Simmons
  • jason jercinovic
  • Joel Parr
  • josh_andrews
  • Kevin S Prince
  • Jon Long
  • Matthew Levine
  • Andrew Huff
  • Mark Meeker
  • Mark
  • Cath Richardson
  • Paul Beaulieu
  • Powen “Don’t scare me like that, colonizer” Shiah
  • Rachel Lovinger
  • Samantha Warren
  • Sandra Marshall
  • Alex Watson
  • Sean McBride
  • Susan Raybuck
  • Tom Insam 🎩

Coverage of this session

Sign in to add slides, notes or videos to this session

Sign in to track this session

Tell your friends!


Time 11:00am12:00pm CST

Date Mon 12th March 2012


Ballroom D, Austin Convention Center

Session type


Session Hash Tag


Short URL


View the schedule



See something wrong?

Report an issue with this session