Go Forth & Make Awesomeness: Core Values & Action

A session at SXSW Interactive 2012

Sunday 11th March, 2012

5:00pm to 6:00pm (CST)

Passion. Purpose. Promise. Pursuit. These are the 4 P’s that create a Map for Awesomeness. Discover how to: embrace your passion, define your purpose, foster your promise, and engage your pursuit. Find out how to do this in a creative environment that encourages collaboration.

About the speakers

This person is speaking at this event.
Jeffrey Zeldman

Founder, Chairman, Happy Cog Founder, Publisher, A List Apart Co-Founder, Publisher, A Book Apart Co-Founder, An Event Apart

Dubbed King of Web Standards by Business Week, Jeffrey Zeldman was one of the first designers, bloggers, and independent publishers on the web, and one of the first web design teachers. In 1998, he co-founded and designed—and from 1999 to 2002 he directed—The Web Standards Project, a grassroots coalition that helped bring complete, compliant HTML, CSS, and JavaScript standards to our browsers. Jeffrey founded and is executive creative director of Happy Cog™, a web design studio with offices in New York, Philadelphia, and Austin, named “Design Agency of the Year” in the 2010 .net Awards. He publishes the industry-leading magazine A List Apart “for people who make websites" (alistapart.com); has written two books, notably the foundational web standards text, Designing With Web Standards 3rd Edition with Ethan Marcotte. His Taking Your Talent to the Web, rated five stars at Amazon.com since the day it was published, is now a free downloadable book. With Eric Meyer, Jeffrey co-founded the An Event Apart, the design conference for people who make websites, in 2006. Jeffrey hosts The Big Web Show ("Everything Web That Matters") on the 5by5 network. The show was named “Video Podcast of the Year” in the 2010 .net Awards and "Podcast of the Year" in the 2011 .net Awards. Jeffrey is also the publisher (and co-founder, with Mandy Brown and Jason Santa Maria) of the “A Book Apart” (abookapart.com) series of brief books for people who make websites, including the best-selling HTML5 for Web Designers by Jeremy Keith CSS3 For Web Designers by Dan Cederholm, Responsive Web Design by Ethan Marcotte, Mobile First by Luke Wroblewski, The Elements of Content Strategy by Erin Kissane, and Designing for Emotion by Aarron Walter. He is a faculty member on the MFA, Interaction Design program at School of Visual Arts in New York City. Jeffrey serves on the Advisory Boards of SXSW Interactive, Readability, RedRover, and Rosenfeld Media (Emeritus) and is a co-founder of The Deck advertising network. Before becoming a web designer, he worked as a composer and musician; as a writer for The Washington Post and City Paper; and as an advertising creative at DeVito/Verdi and elsewhere. He lives in New York City with his daughter Ava.

This person is speaking at this event.
Leslie Jensen-Inman

Asst Professor, The University of Tennessee

Leslie Jensen-Inman, assistant professor at The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, acts on her passion to improve web education through initiatives such as Teach the Web, the Open Web Education Alliance, the WE Rock Summit and Tour, and InterACT. Leslie is co-author and creative director of the book InterACT with Web Standards: A holistic approach to Web design. Make Awesomeness. Do Good. This is Leslie's mantra. She believes awesomeness can and should be integrated into every aspect of the creative process. Leslie works with young designers and established professionals to create opportunities to design and produce innovative products that support the efforts of creatives.


Take collaborative notes on this session with hackpad


These speakers at previous events

135 attendees

  • Mike Jacobson
  • Aimee Woodall
  • alexandra klasinski
  • Anna Uleander
  • ashmeister13
  • Austin Kleon
  • Ben Christen
  • Ben Barnett
  • Nathan Crenshaw
  • Bill DeRouchey
  • Ryan McCormack
  • Brett Sinn
  • Brian Behrend
  • briancarterKC
  • Brian Sloane
  • David Guillory
  • Mark Norman Francis
  • Calvin Ly
  • Casey Justus
  • Keith Chu
  • Cesar DOnofrio
  • Chip Brantley
  • Chris Coyier
  • Chuck Fletcher
  • Dan Chuparkoff
  • Scott Nixon 🦄
  • Cindi Ramm
  • Clay Delk
  • Clemens Brandt
  • Cody Stoltman
  • Corey Hayes
  • Cory O'Brien
  • Cory Shaw
  • Rob Woodall
  • Chris Schultz
  • Craig Villamor
  • Chris Wilson
  • Daniel Lauding
  • L. David Baron
  • Diana Hong
  • Harmesh Chauhan
  • Darren Gibbons
  • Dustin Mihalik
  • Matt Gibson
  • Chris Ebbesen
  • Enoch Elwell
  • Eric Troyer
  • Andrew Goldfinch
  • Eric
  • Michael Paull
  • Dave Christensen
  • Geoffrey Brown
  • georgette
  • Dirk Ginader
  • gregone
  • guavalicious
  • Jason Harris
  • Heidi Waldusky
  • Hello Operator
  • Carlos Orozco
  • Ian MacDowell
  • Ian Silber
  • image415
  • joe l
  • Jeremy Abbott
  • James Madson
  • James Parton
  • Jason Reynolds
  • Leslie Jensen-Inman
  • Jen Simmons
  • Jeremy Clough
  • jeremydaly
  • Jerrod Enders
  • jkwiens
  • Joëlle Eid
  • Johanna Evans
  • karen nguyen
  • Katie Hollowell
  • kellyrand
  • Kevin Dees
  • Kevin M. Hoffman
  • kickme444
  • Charles Klein
  • mike kuzin
  • Leanne Pittsford
  • Lynn Cyr - Designer
  • Brad Maglinger
  • Marco Rosella
  • Marty DeAngelo
  • Matt Lucht
  • Matthew Farag
  • Mina
  • Morgan Burton
  • Moritz Stefaner
  • nloureiro
  • Patrick Haney
  • Tim Holden
  • Peter S. Magnusson
  • Jeph
  • Jason Lewis
  • PsyberBrent
  • Robin Scharpf
  • Ryan Berg
  • Samantha Warren
  • Scott McCaughey
  • scottackerson
  • Scott Kellum
  • Shannon Darrough
  • sermad
  • Stephanie
  • Steven Gianakouros
  • Shawn Cheng
  • Sean McBride
  • Steph Hay
  • David Sleight
  • Zaharenia A.
  • Tantek Çelik
  • Theba
  • Kevin Ball
  • Ralph Brandi
  • Martin Thörnkvist
  • Tiffani Jones Brown
  • Todd Budnikas
  • Tom Nagle
  • triomatt
  • Mike Dunn
  • Mary Beth Faccioli
  • Whitney Hess
  • John Deisher
  • Louis Montagne
  • Julia Gregory
  • Yildiray Atas
  • yoli worth
  • Z. Bryant
  • Jeffrey Zeldman

54 trackers

  • Alex Bilstein
  • adilwali
  • Alexx Henry
  • Anthony Stauffer
  • Aaron Ogle
  • Ben Callahan
  • Ben Goodyear
  • Ben Firshman
  • Cam Bevis
  • Carson McDonald
  • Cynthia Shelly
  • dalprice
  • danethurber
  • Dan Poynor
  • Stephen R. Fox
  • Gabrielle
  • george corzine
  • Guthrie Dolin
  • Glyn Povah
  • Grant K Norwood
  • Laurian Gridinoc
  • Halil Gokdal
  • Miki Johnson
  • Hillary Hartley
  • Patrick Tanguay
  • Joshua Bryant
  • Jeremy Olson
  • Jessica Rudzewicz
  • Joel Parr
  • johanna kollmann
  • Daniel Hansson
  • josh_andrews
  • Jeremy Caudle
  • Robyn Flach
  • Jon Long
  • Matthew Levine
  • Mark Meeker
  • Michael Dain
  • Mathew Ray
  • oscar gutierrez jr
  • Paul McAleer
  • Phil Hawksworth
  • Markus Wegscheider
  • Sam Bao
  • Sandra Marshall
  • Sean Day
  • Michael Wong
  • Shay Howe
  • Simon Doggett
  • tim deSilva
  • Tom Kiss
  • TyKisha
  • Alicia Johnson
  • Vero Pepperrell

Coverage of this session

Sign in to add slides, notes or videos to this session

Sign in to track this session

Tell your friends!


Time 5:00pm6:00pm CST

Date Sun 11th March 2012


Ballroom A, Austin Convention Center

Session type


Session Hash Tag


Short URL


View the schedule



Books by speaker

  • InterACT with Web Standards
  • Designing with Web Standards
  • Webdesign mit Webstandards

See something wrong?

Report an issue with this session