Sakai CLE Governance & Future Direction

A session at Open Apereo 2013 Conference (Jasig & Sakai)

Wednesday 5th June, 2013

9:00am to 9:45am (PST)

It's been a decade since the founding of the Sakai Project and nine years since the release of version 1.0 of the Sakai Collaboration and Learning Environment (CLE). During this time the governance structure that supports the CLE product has evolved. Come learn how the Sakai CLE TCC (Technical Coordination Committee) group oversees, evolves and provides strategy for the Sakai CLE product. Additionally, this session will provide a year in review and an in-depth look at how the 2.9 release came to be, what it is and where Sakai is going in the future.

Come prepare to engage in discussion, give feedback and ask questions.

About the speakers

This person is speaking at this event.
Megan May


Megan May is the manager of the Learning Management Systems team at Indiana University. Megan is charged with the oversight of development, production and support of Oncourse, IU's implementation of Sakai CLE. Between 2006 and 2008 she was Sakai CLE's global QA director and is in her 2nd term as the chair for Sakai's Collaboration and Learning Environment (CLE) Technical Coordination Committee. Additionally, Megan is an adjunct faculty lecturer in the School of Engineering and Technology at IUPUI, teaching in the Computer Information Technologies Department which has given her great insight to the practical use of Sakai.

This person is speaking at this event.
Anthony Whyte

Program Manager

Anthony Whyte is a Program Manager working for both the Library and Information Technology Services at the University of Michigan. He currently serves as vice-chair of the Sakai CLE Technical Coordination Committee. Between 2005 and 2012 he was seconded to the Sakai Foundation, serving in a variety of roles in the service of the Sakai CLE Community.

Next session in Topaz

10am Gradebook 2 - Local Modifications and Feature Enhancements by Yuanhua Qu, Jimmy Rico and Chris Schauer

12 attendees

  • Angela Rabuck
  • Anthony Whyte
  • Christopher Gross
  • Emily Corse
  • David Scoville
  • Dan Kiskis
  • Matthew Jones
  • Matt Clare
  • Matthew McCarty
  • Megan May
  • Omer Piperdi
  • Zach Thonas

4 trackers

  • Becky Roehrs
  • Elizabeth Hodas
  • José Mariano Luján
  • Karen McPhaul

Coverage of this session

Sign in to add slides, notes or videos to this session

Sign in to track this session

Tell your friends!


Time 9:00am9:45am PST

Date Wed 5th June 2013


Topaz, The Westin San Diego

Short URL


Official event site


View the schedule



See something wrong?

Report an issue with this session