Skeptics on the Fringe 2013

3 24 August 2013

28 speakers

  • Thom Brooks @thom_brooks Reader in Law at Durham University Law and founding editor of the Journal of Moral Philosophy.
  • Andrew Russell @dr_andy_russell Lecturer in climate science at Brunel University.
  • Jon Timmis Professor in the Department of Electronics at the University of York.
  • Sophie Scott @sophiescott Professor at University College London
  • Stevyn Colgan @stevyncolgan Author, artist, songwriter and public speaker; Writer for QI and The Museum of Curiosity
  • Thom Scott-Phillips @tscottphillips Research Fellow in Evolutionary Anthropology at Durham University
  • Rich Peppiatt @richpeppiatt Former tabloid reporter; now writer, broadcaster and semi professional troublemaker.
  • Miss Twist Edinburgh Skeptics’ poster girl who blogs at http://misstwists.wordpress.com/
  • Maryam Namazie @maryamnamazie Commentator, broadcaster and campaigner for secularism
  • Mike Fay @drmikefay Research Fellow at the Nottingham Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Centre, part of the University of Nottingham
  • Geraint Parry @LiverpoolPlants Lecturer at the University of Liverpool
  • Stuart Ritchie @StuartJRitchie PhD Psychology student in the Psychology Department at The University of Edinburgh
  • Colin Beveridge @icecolbeveridge Author of several Maths For Dummies books, and has been fascinated by probability since losing his first game of Yahtzee
  • Hazel Gibson @iamhazelgibson PhD student at the University of Plymouth, studying geocognition
  • Alasdair Richmond Graduate of Aberdeen University and teaches philosophy at Edinburgh University
  • Matthew Johnson Lecturer and British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Lancaster, UK
  • Mark Holmes Senior Lecturer in Veterinary Preventive Medicine at the Cambridge Infectious Diseases Centre
  • Caroline Wilkinson Professor of Craniofacial Identification at the University of Dundee
  • Matthew Smith @dr_matthewsmith Senior Lecturer in Psychology at Buckinghamshire New University
  • Simon Singh @SLSingh Author, journalist and TV producer, specialising in science and mathematics; author of "Trick or Treatment" and "The Simpsons and Their Mathematical Secrets"
  • Peter Harrison @Harrison_Peter Skeptic and professional creator of award-winning magic
  • Richard Wiseman @RichardWiseman Psychologist and author of several books including "Rip It Up" and "59 Seconds"
  • Deborah Hyde @jourdemayne Film industry professional who writes, lectures internationally and appears on broadcast media to discuss superstition, religion and belief in the supernatural.
  • Matt Parker @standupmaths Matt regularly appears on BBC Radio 4’s The Infinite Monkey Cage and is also appearing at the fringe as part of the hit show Festival of the Spoken Nerd

29 sessions

Saturday 3rd August 2013

Sunday 4th August 2013

Monday 5th August 2013

Tuesday 6th August 2013

Wednesday 7th August 2013

Thursday 8th August 2013

Friday 9th August 2013

Saturday 10th August 2013

Sunday 11th August 2013

Monday 12th August 2013

Tuesday 13th August 2013

Wednesday 14th August 2013

Thursday 15th August 2013

Friday 16th August 2013

Saturday 17th August 2013

Sunday 18th August 2013

Monday 19th August 2013

Tuesday 20th August 2013

Wednesday 21st August 2013

Thursday 22nd August 2013

Friday 23rd August 2013

Saturday 24th August 2013

Venues

28 known attendees

  • Riddle Like
  • Ben Makin
  • thom_brooks
  • Andrew Russell
  • Jon Timmis
  • Sophie Scott
  • Stevyn Colgan
  • Thom Scott-Phillips
  • Rich Peppiatt
  • Maryam Namazie
  • Mike Fay
  • Geraint Parry
  • Stuart Ritchie
  • Colin Beveridge
  • Hazel Gibson
  • Alasdair Richmond
  • Mark Holmes
  • Caroline Wilkinson
  • Matthew Smith
  • Simon Singh
  • Peter Harrison
  • Richard Wiseman
  • Deborah Hyde
  • Matt Parker
  • Ewan Leeming
  • Rhys Morgan
  • Martin L Poulter
  • Helen Dale

2 people tracking this event

  • craignicol
  • Tim Farley

Tell your friends!

Share this event with your friends on Twitter

Topics

Share

Guides

Coverage

23 write-ups

Most recent added 3 years ago

See all coverage

23 items in total

Staff

Related books

  • Trick or Treatment
  • A New Kind of Science
  • The Faith Healers
  • Maybe Yes, Maybe No
  • Stiff
  • Science and Religion

See something wrong?

Report an issue with this event