TWSIA Award Winners Presentation

A session at Open Apereo 2015 Conference

Tuesday 2nd June, 2015

8:30am to 8:40am (EST)

The Apereo Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the Teaching With Sakai Innovation Award (TWSIA) for 2015.

From the University of Oxford to the University of Hawaii at Hilo, Sakai is being used to provide innovative learning opportunities for diverse groups of learners. That's the lesson to learn from this years ‘Teaching With Sakai Innovation Awards’. The annual awards showcase the efforts of a vibrant and diverse international community dedicated to improving the quality of technology enhanced learning with open source software.

This year’s winners are -

Higher Ed Face to Face category
Entry: Survey of Psychology
Alexander Nagurney (Instructor), University of Hawaii at Hilo and Patrick Smith (Instructional Designer) Texas State University

Higher Ed Online/Hybrid category
Entry: Population Health for Graduate Nursing Students
Catherine Ling (Assistant Professor) Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences Daniel K Inouye Graduate School of Nursing

Entry: Conservation Statistics
Lucy Tallents (Post-doctoral Research Officer) University of Oxford

K-12 category
Entry: Sakai Small World Project
Juan Felipe Gómez Nicholls, (LATAM Regional Representative), Colegio Mas Camarena, Spain and Colegio Arrayanes, Colombia and Asahi Net International
The intent of the award is to highlight examples of educational applications of Sakai which fall into an innovative or transformative category.

Each of the winners will be recognized for their use of the Sakai CLE, or Apereo OAE, for teaching and learning, at the Apereo Conference in Baltimore, MD, May 31-June 4, 2015. Details of their winning projects will be shared at the conference.

Next session in Maryland BC

8:40am General Session: A Gradual Revolution: the Future of Digital Humanities by Lucy Appert and Robert Squillace

26 attendees

  • Elne van Niekerk
  • Alexander Cao
  • Andrew Marker
  • Matthew Buckett
  • Charles Bristow
  • David Bauer
  • Luisa Li
  • Mary Jane Palm
  • Jeffrey Lane
  • Jim Helwig
  • J. Tae-Jin Kim
  • Laura Gekeler
  • Laura Cira
  • Lucy Tallents
  • Matt Clare
  • mccorks
  • nakano
  • Mike Osterman
  • Patrick Miller
  • John A. Lewis
  • Qu
  • Jimmy_work
  • Salwa Khan
  • Timothy Vertein
  • Koichiro Tonomura
  • Yi Zhu

Coverage of this session

Sign in to add slides, notes or videos to this session

Sign in to track this session

Tell your friends!


Time 8:30am8:40am EST

Date Tue 2nd June 2015

Short URL


Official event site


View the schedule


See something wrong?

Report an issue with this session